Asbri Golf - PGA Partner

The PGA has forged commercial relationships with many of the leading names in the golf industry as part of the PGA Partner Programme. These companies support the Association in a number of areas, including training and education, tournaments and branded facilities. The PGA has also formed relationships with a host of leading businesses who have become Official Suppliers because of their professionalism, experience and quality.

PGA Official Suppliers also support tournaments and other commercial activities within the Association.

In 2015, Asbri was appointed as PGA Official Suppliers and signed a new three-year agreement to continue their sponsorship of the Welsh National PGA Championship, having been the title sponsor for the past two years.

In 2017, Asbri strengthened their ties with The PGA and became a PGA Partner and also extended their sponsorship of the Welsh National PGA Championships for a further three years.

Credibility for our brand and products doesn’t come any higher and we are thoroughly delighted to have the endorsement of The PGA.

“Asbri has built a reputation as one of Europe’s leading logo accessory brands with their wide range of high quality crested merchandise and significant global distribution. Their established set-up and exceptional service has made them a trusted supplier to The PGA for a number of years. So we are delighted to strengthen our relationship and promote their brand even further to our Members, partners and branded properties.”

PGA Chief Executive, Robert Maxfield


Welsh PGA National Championship

The Welsh PGA Championship has a rich history, dating back as it does to 1904, just three years after The Professional Golfers' Association was formed.

Arthur Day was the inaugural winner at Radyr and down the years some notable golfers have lifted the title including Peter Alliss's father, Percy, who won back to back championships in 1920 and 1921 at Aberdovey and Southerndown respectively.

In 1932 Bill Smalldon lifted the trophy at Royal Porthcawl, shooting rounds of 68, 73, 76 and 73. For Smalldon, who was pro at Cardiff from 1928 to '74, it was to mark a long association with the event that indirectly continues today with the trophy named after his son Denis, a promising golfer who won the tournament twice in the late 50's ('56 and '59) but was tragically killed in a car crash.

During the early 70's Peter Johnson, now at Ridgeway Golf Club but who succeeded Bill Smalldon at Cardiff in the mid 70's, stepped into to save the tournament when it lost its main sponsor.

Johnson generated money by persuading Cardiff's members to sponsor holes. He ran the event for more than a decade and was indebted to 2006 European Ryder Cup captain Ian Woosnam who played in the tournament for nearly 10 years winning it in 1988.

Past winners have also included Philip Price, Craig DeFoy and Sid Mouland who dominated the event during the 1960's, winning six times. 2006 marked the beginning of a significant chapter in the championship's history with the arrival of new sponsors Ryder Cup Wales 2010.The Ryder Cup connection continued with support of the event in 2011 and 2012. Stephen Dodd landed his fourth title at Southerndown in 2011 with Stuart Manley triumphing a year later at Cardiff.

Asbri Golf, a rising Wales-based golf accessories company specializing in bespoke and logo merchandise, came aboard as headline sponsor in 2013 signing a two year agreement with the event being staged at Royal St David's.

In 2015 it returned to Radyr - the club to first stage the championship back in 1904 - with Garry Houston the victor and Asbri renewing their sponsorship for a further 3 years.

Past Winners

List of past winners, playing venues and scores from 1904.

Year Name Venue Score
2021 Lee Rooke Aberdovey Golf Club 136
2020 Timothy Dykes Cardiff Golf Club 138
2019 Mark Pilkington Conwy Golf Club 142
2018 Toby Hunt Ashburnham 136
2017 Sion Bebb Celtic Manor 131
2016 Lydia Hall Tenby 138
2015 Garry Houston Radyr 137
2014 Stephen Dodd Royal St David's 134
2013 Lee Rooke Royal St David's 135
2012 Stuart Manley Cardiff 135
2011 Stephen Dodd Southerndown 136**
2010 Simon Edwards Royal St David's 204
2009 Jason Powell Ashburnham 221
2008 Trevor Jones Cardiff 209
2007 Stephen Dodd Cardiff 200
2006 Sion Bebb Tenby 204
2005 Sion Bebb Southerndown 199
2004 Mark Plummer Vale of Llangollen 203
2003 Simon Edwards Porthmadog 196
2002 Simon Edwards Pyle & Kenfig 210
2001 Stephen Dodd Ashburnham 214
2000 Mark Plummer Newport 136
1999 Richard Dinsdale Vale of Glamorgan 134
1998 Liam Bond Vale of Glamorgan 69*
1997 Matthew Ellis Vale of Glamorgan 139
1996 Matthew Stanford Northop Country Park 137
1995 Stephen Dodd Northop Country Park 139
1994 Mark Plummer Northop Country Park 133
1993 Philip Price Mountain Lakes 138
1992 Chris Evans Ashburnham 142
1991 Paul Mayo Fairwood Park 138
1990 Paul Mayo Fairwood Park 136
1989 Kevin Jones Royal Porthcawl 140
1988 Ian Woosnam Cardiff 137
1987 A Dodman Cardiff 132
1986 Phillip Parkin Whitchurch 142
1985 David Llewellyn Whitchurch 132
1984 Kevin Jones Cardiff 135
1983 Simon Cox Cardiff 136
1982 Craig DeFoy Cardiff 137
1981 Craig DeFoy Cardiff 139
1980 Andrew Griffiths Cardiff 139
1979 Event cancelled
1978 Brian Hugget Whitchurch 145
1977 Craig DeFoy Glamorganshire 135
1976 Simon Cox Radyr 284
1975 Craig DeFoy Whitchurch 285
1974 M Hughes Cardiff 284
1973 A Griffiths Newport 289
1972 J Buckley Royal Porthcawl 298
1971 J Buckley St Pierre 291
1970 W Evans Tredegar Park 289
1969 S Mouland Llandudno 277
1968 RJ Davies Southerndown 292
1967 S Mouland Pyle & Kenfig 219**
1966 S Mouland Conwy 281
1965 S Mouland Penarth 281
1964 B Bielby Tenby 297
1963 H Gould Wrexham 291
1962 S Mouland Royal Porthcawl 302
1961 S Mouland Southerndown 286
1960 RH Kemp Jnr Llandudno 288
1959 D Smalldon Newport  
1958 RH Kemp Radyr  
1957 J Black Llandudno  
1956 D Smalldon Royal Porthcawl  
1952 S Collins Southerndown  
1951 H Gould Llandudno  
1950 G James Newport  
1949 H Gould Radyr  
1948 H Gould Aberdovey  
1947 K Williams Llandrindod  
1946 H Gould Royal Porthcawl  
1940-45 World War II
1939 C Grabham Harlech  
1938 S Collins St Mellons  
1937 F Hill Clyne  
1936 F Lloyd Prestatyn  
1935 F Hill Penarth  
1934 CA Pickett Swansea Bay  
1933 F Collins Rhyl  
1932 WG Smalldon Royal Porthcawl  
1931 R Watts Newport  
1930 H Palferman Wrexham  
1929 B Hodson Royal Porthcawl  
1928 R Walker Llandudno  
1927 B Hodson Tenby  
1926 BS Weastall Llandudno  
1925 J Horn Pennard  
1924 BS Weastall Llandudno  
1923 JW Milner Royal Porthcawl  
1922 G Faulkner Rhos on Sea  
1921 P Alliss Southerndown  
1920 P Alliss Aberdovey  
1914-1919 World War I
1913 C Gadd Chester  
1912 C Hughes Royal Porthcawl  
1911 P Rainford Conwy  
1910 A Matthews Swansea  
1909 A Matthews Rhyl  
1908 TJ Brace Bridgend  
1907 S Whiting Porthcawl  
1906 J Ross Radyr  
1905 F Collins Conwy  
1904 A Day Radyr  

* reduced to 18 holes
** reduced to 54 holes
*** reduced to 36 holes